When Waking up Isn’t Enough

Some days, waking up isn’t enough. If you’re anything like most well-adjusted and healthy American people, there are periods in your life where your existence will be repugnant and seemingly impossible. During those, the most courageous thing you’ll ever do is to get out of bed anyway. And eat. And work. And read to your kids. And lie near to your loved one, though you may not recall what that means. During these times you may be so tired, disgusted, or horrified at living that all you can do is the next thing: I need to feed my dog now. I will feed my dog now. I need to get dressed now. I will walk upstairs and get dressed.

Read more of my article at Christ and Pop Culture.

Leave a Reply

